Pakistan rout Ireland to win T20I series

Pakistan rout Ireland to win T20I series


Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan guide Pakistan to six-wicket win over hosts

Follow on
Follow us on Google News

DUBLIN (Dunya News) – A strong partnership between Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan guided Pakistan to beat Ireland by six wickets and clinch the three-match T20I series at Dublin on Tuesday. 

Rizwan struck 56 off 38 while Azam smashed 75 in pursuit of 179 runs target, propelling Pakistan to victory with 18 balls to spare. 

The duo fell back-to-back as M.R Adair and Young got breakthroughs to bring the visitors under pressure. At this time, Azam Khan maintained the momentum and showed fireworks that ensured the 2-1 series win for the Team Green. 

Opener Saim Ayub could score 14 runs as he was dismissed by Adair in an early blow to Pakistan. 

Earlier, Pakistan won the toss and put Ireland to bat first. The hosts set 179-run target for Pakistan to win the third and final T20I. Ireland captain Lorcan Tucker scored 73 runs while Pakistan’s Shaheen Afridi took three wickets. 

For the third match, Pakistan had one change in the playing XI as pacer Naseem Shah was replaced by Hasan Ali. 

Babar Azam Breaks Virat Kohli’s Record 

Meanwhile, Pakistan skipper Babar Azam scripted history as he broke Indian batsman Virat Kohli’s record for most 50-plus scores in T20I cricket. 

Azam achieved the milestone in the final game of three-match T20I series against Ireland. He struck 75 off 45 balls as Pakistan beat Ireland by six wickets to clinch the T20I series. He now has 39 fifty-plus scores in T20Is while Kohli stands at 38. 

During the first T20I against Ireland in Dublin, Babar hammered his 35th half-century in T20Is and his overall 38th 50-plus score, which helped him equal Kohli’s record. 
The former Indian captain has scored 38 fifty-plus scores in 117 T20Is played so far.